Soft-scrambled

(juicy, tasty, not well done…)

-Sometimes being with your children is like eating your vegetables. Sometimes it is like a truffle, a split second of richness gone before you can grab it. But a lot of times it’s like a giant bowl of spinach with nary a bacon bit in sight: you do it because you know it’s tremendously good for everyone involved but endurance is required. Most of today was spinach, but there was one truffle… Clive’s lunchtime announcement: “I don’t often use my original voice.” Funny, but also, upon reflection, oddly true.

-In Acts 15, Peter calls legalism “testing God.” Usually I think of the sin and consequences of legalism as it relates to the other person (i.e., who I’m judging), but not as often to God. But, as Peter explained to his fellow apostles and elders, how obnoxious is it to determine the grace of God insufficient? To refuse to trust another’s Creator with the details of their salvation? To hold God accountable as though He doesn’t know His own promises and standards?

-There are a lot of days where I’m more than a wee bit tired with deputation. This timeline helps: God first tells Abraham to leave his country and family. Abraham gets to Canaan and it’s ten years before he sort of throws in the towel with the whole Hagar-Ishmael thing. Then it’s another thirteen years before God comes to meet him and promise him that the child will be born within a year. Then a year later Isaac is born. Ten years plus thirteen years. Ironically, it wouldn’t have been that surprising if Isaac had been born at the beginning of that timeline, when Abraham was more like 77 years old rather than 100—Abraham’s father, Terah, was 70 when Abraham was born. The point being that God intentionally waited for it to reach the point of impossible. I don’t have a specific promise like Abraham and Sarah regarding deputation, but I do want their faith. And I want to enjoy the character of our God who loves showing us the impossible, even absurd. When Isaac was born Sarah said “God has brought me laughter.” I’m sure that reflects a lot of the joy of a barren woman holding her only child, but I also can’t help but suspect an element of irony from the woman who previously gave a knowing snicker to God’s promise. I hope to be with Sarah someday, laughing at my own faithless skepticism and God’s unexpected designs.

-The “comfortable” life in America just goes to prove that you can’t get away from sin. No amount of physical comforts, labor-saving devices and everyday luxuries can make us happy. It only shifts the problem—we may not be hungry or reduced to tribal warfare but we still find plenty of ways to hate and hurt others and we’re haunted by things like depression and sleeplessness. So when people talk about how good we have it here I understand what they mean and the imperative of gratitude, but I also think that our greatest blessing is never being an American or having a healthy family or a beautiful home but always and only Jesus.

2 Comments

Filed under Christian Living, Family

2 responses to “Soft-scrambled

  1. I was just thinking about how long Abraham had to wait for the promised land the other day! Then I read this 🙂 Thank you for sharing. It is funny how one can feel so burdened in a trial while in such blessed circumstances. I struggle learning to wait on God!

  2. kerrylynne

    Your last sentence is an eloquent description of a sentiment I have had on my heart but couldn’t manage to put into words. Well said.

Leave a Reply

