Cannot

Blog post from November 2010

Cannot

Is a strong word. It kicked my tail this morning. See, for a couple weeks now I’ve been wallowing in a plague of selfish laziness. It’s been a rough fall, what with a newborn who doesn’t like to sleep, a three year old who can run circles around me and push me to my limits every day, a very busy husband and far too much travelling with far too little sleep and a lot of germs. As silly as it sounds (which sin always does once I reach the point of thinking rationally and biblically), I just wasn’t having any fun. A few days ago I told my husband that it was hard to get out of bed in the morning because all I had to look forward to was hard work every minute of every day: correcting, training, feeding, cleaning, etc. I know, poor me, with my lovely home and family, all my needs met and wonderful, loving friends. Yes, very silly but also treacherous. Both unbelieving and believing scholars talk all the time about Jesus’ ability to be both simple and harsh in his statements. So Jesus let my husband be nice to me and baby me for a day or two and then He got up in my face this morning as the Spirit brought these words to mind: Whoever doesn’t carry her cross and come after me cannot be my disciple. I tend to overcomplicate things, and I had all my excuses, but they just don’t hold water with the One who came from heaven to suffer and die for you.

It’s your privilege your life to give
Stand firm and be relentless!

Tedashii

And Jesus answered them, saying, “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit. He who loves his 1life loses it, and he who hates his life in this world will keep it to life eternal. If anyone 1serves Me, he must follow Me; and where I am, there My servant will be also; if anyone serves Me, the Father will honor him. Jn 12.23-26

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Living

Leave a Reply

